Healthier Eating · motivation

Ready for the week….

FullSizeRen

Well I am ready for my week.  In searching the web lately looking for healthier options for myself, I came across lots of yummy things.  For me it is not just about yummy and healthy, it’s about convenience. If I plan most of my meals for the week then it does guarantee that I will eat healthy.  And I know my weaknesses.  For example…I like something sweet with my coffee in the morning, about 930am while I am checking emails at work.  Also, like many people, if I don’t bring something good for lunch I will fill up with crap, like go into the lunchroom and have a Pizza pop!!! (that hasn’t happened yet..but it could).  So today was my day to try out some recipes that I found online.  I love to cook so spending a few hours in the kitchen is a pleasure and therapeutic.

Last night I put some overnight steel-cut oats on the stove so today I portioned them into jars for my week.  Every morning I will just add my fixins…nuts, coconut, brown sugar…lots of choices for overnight oats.  I also made some great Loaded Baked Omelette cups from  Skinnytaste.  Let me tell you, if you have not yet discovered Skinnytaste, you are missing out.  It’s got amazing recipes!

o

So then I was onto some recipes I was really looking forward to trying.  I am not a baker and also I am trying hard to limit my gluten, but I was trying to find alternatives to my “morning coffee sweet”. So I tried these two recipes and they are not only no bake but healthy, clean and tasty!! I love coconut so if you don’t these are not for you.  So first I made Quinoa Almond Joy Bars, note…mine do not look as good as SkinnyMS but they tasted great!!  Then I had dried apricots in my cupboard so I tried these Apricot Balls.  Both turned out very delish!!! Will definitely make both again!! So I am ready for my week and still researching more yummy recipes…..any suggestions?

FullSizeRenderr

2 thoughts on “Ready for the week….

  1. Oh wow, well done you! So much prep sorted. I totally get you on convenience, particularly if it’s been a long day and you’re starving. I hadn’t actually stopped over at Skinnytaste before so thanks for sharing the link! Looks like a great site. As for other inspiration, do you follow Green Kitchen Stories? It’s my favourite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

